Menu Contact/Location

Three Winners and Eleven Honorable Mention to Receive Landmarks Scholarship

Maclaen Johnson, one of the 2022 Landmarks Scholarship winners, wrote about the Andrew Carnegie Free Library & Music Hall in Carnegie, PA. By sixth grade, he was volunteering at the library. He wrote: “I developed self-confidence and enriched my knowledge of history inside the storied structure.” The Carnegie Carnegie, as the building is now called, recently dedicated a beautifully landscaped Library Park.

“It’s a remarkable achievement,” said PHLF Trustee David Brashear. “Since 1999, PHLF has awarded 85 scholarships and 51 honorable mentions to high school graduates from Allegheny County who care deeply about the Pittsburgh region and are pursuing an undergraduate degree at a college or university of their choice.”

Mr. Brashear’s family initiated the Landmarks Scholarship Program in 1999 through a Donor-Advised Fund at PHLF. Foundations, businesses, and many PHLF members have generously contributed since then. The scholarship award of $6,000 is payable over four years to the recipient’s college/university to help pay tuition and book expenses; the honorable mention award is a one-time gift of $250, payable to the recipient’s college/university.

The following people were awarded scholarships at the May 16 Committee meeting:

  • Maclaen Johnson (Bishop Canevin High School/University of Notre Dame);
  • Clark McCord (Central Catholic High School/University of Pittsburgh)
  • Luke Smarra (Montour High School/Tulane University).

The following were awarded honorable mentions:

  • Aubree Arelt (Serra Catholic High School/West Virginia University);
  • Christian Cropper (Eden Christian Academy/Hope College);
  • Madeline Douglas (Woodland Hills High School/Columbia University);
  • Christian Duckworth (North Allegheny Senior High School/Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute);
  • Negein Immen (Pine Richland High School/Penn State University);
  • Madison Martin (Sewickley Academy/New York University);
  • Desirae Nance (Sewickley Academy/Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University);
  • Elizabeth Neel (Pittsburgh CAPA/Temple University);
  • Mia Schubert (Shaler Area High School/Juniata College);
  • Hailey Shevitz (Pittsburgh Allderdice/University of Wisconsin-Madison); and
  • Melaina Thompson (Pittsburgh CAPA/Cornell University).

The recipients will be recognized during a reception in June at the Grand Concourse restaurant in Station Square.

The Scholarship Program has helped introduce young people to the work and mission of PHLF and has created a network of support and a sense of family among the recipients. Two former scholarship recipients are now trustees of PHLF––Todd Wilson and Kezia Ellison––and many others contribute their time and expertise as members.

Applicants are asked to write about a place in Allegheny County that is meaningful to them. The essays this year were outstanding and insightful. Featured places included the Allegheny Observatory, Andrew Carnegie Free Library & Music Hall, Benedum Center for the Performing Arts, Cathedral of Learning, Carnegie Museum of National History & Art, First English Evangelical Lutheran Church, Fort Pitt Museum, Freedom Corner, Frick Park, Fulton Log House, Hartwood Acres, Homestead Grays Bridge, Sarah Heinz House, Kennywood Park, Sue Murray Swimming Pool, North Park, South Park, Washington’s Landing, and White Oak Park.

PHLF welcomes contributions in support of the Landmarks Scholarship Program which will be celebrating its 25th anniversary in 2023.

Please click here to contribute; be sure to designate your gift to “Scholarship.”

Thank you!

Pittsburgh History & Landmarks Foundation

100 West Station Square Drive, Suite 450

Pittsburgh, PA 15219

Phone: 412-471-5808  |  Fax: 412-471-1633